Afe Babalola donates N100m to Ekiti

The Founder, Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti (ABUAD) and Grand Patron of Ekiti State COVID-19 Response Resource Mobilisation Committee, Aare Afe Babalola (SAN), has donated N100 million naira and 800 bags of rice in support of Ekiti State Government’s war against the coronavirus pandemic.

Frontline lawyer and member of the committee, Chief Wole Olanipekun (SAN), also donated N10million and a ventilator to the state.

The two donations were announced during the committee’s first virtual meeting on ThursdayAccording to a statement by the Secretary of the Committee, Mrs Margaret Fagboyo, the meeting was presided by the Chairman of the Ekiti State Covid-19 Committee Response Resource Mobilisation Committee, Prince Julius Adelusi-Adeluyi.

It had in attendance Governor Kayode Fayemi, Aare Afe Babalola, the Patrons who are past Governors of the state- Otunba Adeniyi Adebayo, Dr Ayodele Fayose and Chief Segun Oni, as well as 43 other members of the Committee.

The meeting, according to Fagboyo, was convened for members to discuss the mandate of the Committee, which include mobilisation of resources, direct funding campaign for COVID-19 response, as well as identifying and soliciting effective funding channels/sources.

“The Committee Chairman, Patrons and other members applauded the Governor Fayemi for the initiative and commended him for putting politics aside and bringing Ekiti sons and daughters in diverse groups to serve the State in the war against the COVID-19 Pandemic.

The meeting also announced the composition of five sub-committees to work on different areas of the committee’s activities.

It was also agreed that the Central Working Committee under the leadership of the Chairman, will receive periodic reports from the sub-committees and coordinate the overall activities of the Committee.

The Sub-Committees are: the Central Working Committee with Prince Julius Adelusi-Adeluyi as Chairman; Medical Logistics and Project Nomination Committee with Dr Tunji Olowolafe as Chairman and Dr Adedamola Dada as Co-Chairman;  Fund Raising Committee with Mr Gbenga Oyebode as Chairman  and Chief Wole Olanipekun as Co-Chairman.

Others are: Federal Government Institutions with Mr Femi Falana (SAN) as Chairman and Sir Remi Omotosho as Co-Chairman and Development Finance Committee with Mrs Folusho Olaniyan as Chairperson and Chief Bayo Awosemusi as Co- Chairman.

It was also agreed that the tenure and role of the Committee would be extended beyond COVID-19 to address other critical issues now and in the future.

Afe Babalola

0/Post a Comment/Comments

Previous Post Next Post